D3: The Mighty Ducks (1996)

D3: The Mighty Ducks (1996)

Directed by: Robert Lieberman

Starring: Emilio Estevez, Jeffrey Nordling, David Selby

Why did they decide to name the sequels in this franchise in this way? What does “D3” even mean? Has any other series ever done this? Besides DP2: The Mighty Fhucks, that is. Also, I really want to watch that movie now, because I’m laughing my ass off here.

The Mighty Ducks are in high school now (and all of them are at the same school, including those who were only in the team in the last movie because it was representing America in the olympics, for some reason) and Emilio Estevez is too busy being a successful lawyer to coach them. Instead, they get some dick, who is a dick, and… uh… friendship!

Even though Emilio (I call him by his first name because we are IRL friends. Or I think it’s possible, anyway. I do it because I think it’s a goofy name, okay? Shut up) isn’t the coach anymore, he still shows up a couple times in this movie. Usually actors don’t come back for several sequels because they can’t get paid as much as they want for the role or something along those lines, but I guess Emilio was just too… busy (?!) to be in the lead here? Maybe they wrote it, assuming he wouldn’t want to be back, but he demanded he be put in anyway. Who knows, this is all just very observant speculation which is probably right. Who knows…

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment