A Fistful of Dollars (1964)

A Fistful of Dollars (1964)

Directed by: Sergio Leone

Starring: Clint Eastwood, Gian Maria Volonté, Marianne Koch

I’m working on a western-themed project right now, so I figured I’d go ahead and watch a bunch of classic westerns. It’s not usually the genre I’m into, but hopefully after watching all the greats, I’ll get a better perspective.

In the old west, there’s a town with two major crime families, which Clint Eastwood walks into. As a gun-for-hire, he comes up with a plan to set both families against each other so he can take the spoils while they’re busy killing each other.

This is a pretty good movie. It’s a lot slower than I expected for some reason, but it’s used to very good effect. Just the fact that there are lots of long cuts and there isn’t all that much dialog would usually mean that you’re not going to be interested, but it’s timed perfectly. It’s a pretty good movie, I recommend it.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment