Big Top Scooby-Doo! (2012)

Big Top Scooby-Doo! (2012)

Directed by: Ben Jones

Starring: Matthew Lillard, Frank Welker, Grey DeLisle

As I’m sure you all know, my one and only claim to fame is that I’ve seen every episode and movie of Scooby-Doo, of which there are more than 420 since 1969 (TOO MANY FUNNY NUMBERS!!! AHHHH). So, of course, I had to check out the two Scooby-Doo movies that I hadn’t reviewed yet. I had to. There are serious legal punishments in place if I don’t. Luckily, Big Top Scooby-Doo! was actually not all that bad.

The Mystery Machine gang finds themselves at a circus, which has been terrorized by a werewolf who steals jewels. In an effort to catch whoever’s behind all this, the teens join the circus as various acts, most of which are horrifying daredevil stunts. Of course. All the usual suspects are there, the Russian strongman, the morose Italian clown, the Native American ringleader, and of course, a Norwegian heavy metal singer who’s stage persona is pretending to be a werewolf. Oh.

I had a couple legitimate laughs while watching this movie, and it’s either because the brain damage is finally taking its toll or that it was made by the same crew that did Legend of the Phantosaur and they have a really good grasp on how to balance standard Scooby-Doo fare with witty self-parody. If we’re going by majority votes, it’s probably the brain damage thing.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment