Scream of the Banshee (2011)

Scream of the Banshee (2011)

Directed by: Steven C. Miller

Starring: Eric F. Adams, Marcelle Baer, Edrick Browne

This movie has a solid enough premise for a horror flick, it just fails to deliver on having anything interesting or new or scary. So… it’s better than most horror movies, I guess.

A group of interns and their teacher discover a box from 12th century Ireland that has a horrible, disfigured head in it. Of course, the head comes to life and is a banshee. Everyone who hears its scream is haunted by hallucinations until they themselves scream and the banshee is finally able to kill them. For some reason, Lance Henriksen is the only guy who knows how to defeat the monster, but also for some reason he’s a crazy guy who tries to shoot everybody for no reason. They end up putting the banshee’s head back in the box, and everything is solved forever.

I watch significantly more horror movies than I assume everyone except those guys who have paid subscriptions to Fangoria do, so maybe that’s why I’m just so tired of seeing the same thing over and over again. Oh look, it’s a monster with sharp teeth and long fingers, and it makes people think there is blood nearby. I know you don’t have to be creative or anything to make a horror movie, that’s part of the reason why everyone and their brother goes out to make one. I don’t even know what I’m complaining about, I’m just doing this to myself. Maybe I should watch some GOOD movies every once in a while.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment