Pokémon: The Movie 2000 (1999)

Pokémon: The Movie 2000 (1999)

Directed by: Michael Haigney, Kunihiko Yuyama

Starring: Veronica Taylor, Rachael Lillis, Madeleine Blaustein

Today, I’ve reached my 2,000th movie review on this site, so to celebrate I watched five movies with “2000” in the title leading up to that review. I know, I’m a cool guy. So that’s the reason why I watched a Pokémon movie, and the ONLY reason that would ever happen.

Three kids who wander around the world on their own come across the evil Collector, who wants to capture pokemon and “collect ’em all”. THAT BASTARD. The little monsters he’s got his eye on today are the three magic bird pokemon that apparently are the reasons oceans exist or something. The kids have to stop him by taking some magic marbles out of certain statues and then putting them into other statues.

I got so angry at this movie, especially the bit about how the bad guy is bad because he wants to collect all the pokemon. Isn’t that the whole fucking point?! IT’S IN YOUR THEME SONG! Other than that, you get the normal Pokémon treatment where it’s just insipid and the same shit over and over again, and every time that fucking cat talks I want to stab myself in the eyes. I’m not a fan of this series is what I guess I’m saying. The games are pretty good, but the cartoon is garbage.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment