Honey, I Shrunk the Kids (1989)

Honey, I Shrunk the Kids (1989)

Directed by: Joe Johnston

Starring: Rick Moranis, Matt Frewer, Marcia Strassman

I think I’m probably biased against this movie because I never liked it as a kid and always thought it was kinda stupid (Ghostbusters II was OBVIOUSLY a superior Rick Moranis movie. …God, I was a jackass about movies even as a kid), but I don’t really like Honey, I Shrunk the Kids. I know it’s pretty much a huge film as far as my generation goes, but… it’s pretty dumb.

Rick Moranis invents a shrink ray which doesn’t work, except when it accidentally shrinks his and his neighbor’s kids. OOPSIE. The kids then have to travel across his back yard (after being thrown out with the garbage) to get back to the house in hopes that Moranis will be able to grow them back to normal size.

Okay, here’s my big problem with this film (as a jaded, angry adult): The main characters, the kids, are incredibly two-dimensional. There’s the girl, the nerdy kid, the jock kid, and the jock kid who doesn’t particularly want to be a jock kid. It just seems to me that maybe the characters should be A LITTLE interesting. That’s all I’m asking. Just a skosh. On the other hand, the practical effects and backdrops of being really small are really well done. On the other hand, they say that they’re only a half inch tall, but they ride ants and NO NO NO! I told myself I wouldn’t bring up this stupid nerd shit.

It’s an okay movie. I’m sure medium-sized kids would still like this film. And Rick Moranis wears a funny hat, so that’s all you kids need, right? Good.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment