Shock (1946)

Shock (1946)

Directed by: Alfred L. Werker

Starring: Vincent Price, Lynn Bari, Frank Latimore

It’s cool to see some Vincent Price in the middle of all these old, crappy horror movies which, yes, I’m still slowly going through. On the other hand, it’s fucking weird to see Vincent Price without a moustache. I thought he was born with that thing.

A woman sees a doctor (Price) kill his wife in a moment of passion and collapses from the shock of it. He just happens to be attending to her when she half-wakes and tells all about what she saw. Price keeps her sedated and isolated so she can’t tell anyone what happens, and the whole thing just spirals farther and farther out of control.

There were some good elements of suspense in this movie, which “shocked” me. Get it? Because the name of the movie is Shock, and I used the word “shock” in reference to my experience in watching the movie? You aren’t a real movie reviewer until you do that sort of thing, or so I’m told.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment