Scooby-Doo Goes Hollywood (1979)

scooby-doo-goes-hollywoodScooby-Doo Goes Hollywood (1979)

Directed by: Ray Patterson

Starring: Don Messick, Casey Kasem, Frank Welker

one-star

This movie actually surpised me. I thought I’d seen everything Scooby-Doo related (and now I have, dammit), and then Cartoon Network had to go and dig deep into their vault and fish out this festering pile of “movie.” Ugh.

In Scooby-Doo Goes Hollywood (the sequel to Scooby-Doo Does Dallas, I think. Ew), Shaggy and Scooby are actors who play themselves on the normal Scooby-Doo show, but they want to become movie stars, so they make a bunch of horrible spoof movies and there are songs. Terrible, terrible songs. Sung by Casey Kasem.

If I may lapse into Wikipedia-speak for a moment, I don’t think that this movie is “in canon” with the rest of the Scooby-Doobiverse. For some reason they’re all actors, but they actually did go on all the adventures that they’re playing out? What the hell kind of premise is that? They’re either actors or they’re the characters they portray. Pick one.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment