Blackbeard’s Ghost (1968)

blackbeards-ghostBlackbeard’s Ghost (1968)

Directed by: Robert Stevenson

Starring: Peter Ustinov, Dean Jones, Suzanne Pleshette

three-stars

So maybe it’s just me, but when I see the title Blackbeard’s Ghost, I don’t think about a Disney movie where the ghost of a pirate helps a failing track team win a meet so they can save an old hotel being run by old ladies. I can’t be the only one who thinks that way, can I?

Anyway, the plot of Blackbeard’s Ghost is… Well, I guess I just summed the whole thing up in one sentence up there. Um… Peter Ustinov. Yep.

You know, as silly as the premise is for this movie, it’s not all that bad. Yeah, it’s very formulaic, and it was obviously made specifically to show of their great special effects and their ability to move things around on strings because there’s supposed to be an invisible guy there… But it’s not a bad kid’s movie. In fact, this is the second time I’ve seen it, and I didn’t mind at all. So that’s something going for it, I guess.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment