Best in Show (2000)

Best in Show (2000)

Directed by: Christopher Guest

Starring: Fred Willard, Eugene Levy, Catherine O’Hara

Yeah, I finally saw Best in Show. My friend Ian has been recommending this movie to me for years, so it’s my own damn fault that I waited so long. Don’t make the same mistakes I did, children. Stay in school. Or… wait, no. Do drugs. Fuck, I’m bad at this.

Best in Show is a mockumentary (like Guest’s other films This is Spinal Tap and A Mighty Wind, which are also both great films) about five different dogs and their handlers entered into an important dog show.You’ve got a redneck, a pair of yuppies, the standard middle-class couple, two gay guys, and a rich woman with her lesbian dog handler. Also, Fred Willard is the announcer at the show, and he apparently has no idea what the hell’s going on.

The cast in this film is perfect. It’s the standard stable of Chrisopher Guest actors, all of which are really funny people, and they all manage to play their roles to a level of uncomfortable familiarity. I gotta say, I laughed my ass off at this movie, and I think I may even like it better than Spinal Tap. Also, there’s cute doggies! NOW YOU HAVE NO REASON NOT TO WATCH IT!

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment