Bowfinger (1999)

Bowfinger (1999)

Directed by: Frank Oz

Starring: Steve Martin, Eddie Murphy, Heather Graham

I remember seeing this movie in theaters when it came out and really liking it. For some reason, it struck me as something I wouldn’t like anymore, but it was still just as funny as I remember it being. That was a nice surprise.

Steve Martin plays a struggling filmmaker who’s trying to get his first film made starring the biggest action hero in Hollywood (Murphy). Of course, Murphy doesn’t know that he’s in the movie about pod people attacking the Earth, and this just makes him even more paranoid than he already was. Eddie Murphy also plays another role (of course) as his own brother, which is actually pretty funny.

I guess the main idea of the movie is to make fun of the movie-making process in broad strokes, and it works pretty well so long as you don’t think about it too much. If anything, actually knowing more about how films are made detracts from the movie, because I kept thinking about minutia. The moral of the story is, as always, you should really just relax.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment