The Craft (1996)

The Craft (1996)

Directed by: Andrew Fleming

Starring: Robin Tunney, Fairuza Balk, Neve Campbell

Huh. Did you guys know that The Craft is basically Harry Potter for goths? I mean, I knew it was about goths who gained magic powers, but the story progression is almost exactly Harry Potter-esque until the third act when everyone turns evil for some reason. So, like Harry Potter if it was written by Rod Serling.

A girl moves to a new house and a new school, and becomes friends with three wiccan goth girls. The four of them start doing spells and things, and find out that they have actual magic powers. They use these powers to get things they want, but the main character girl eventually realizes that what they’re doing is wrong and quits the coven. The other girls (for some reason) decide to attack and try to kill her, but she’s really the most powerful one and blah blah witch fight.

This movie is, uh… really stupid. Pretty much. I mean, I can see why it was made and who the target audience is, but still, even with that in mind… it’s pretty dumb. I’m not really ever big on teenage power fantasy movies, but even among those, I’d say The Craft rates pretty low. I’d rather see Scooby-Doo and the Witch’s Ghost (which I have apparently not reviewed here, somehow. I must’ve seen that piece of shit a hundred times on Cartoon Network), which has just about as accurate a view of wicca and witches and The Craft does.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment