The Rocker (2008)

The Rocker (2008)

Directed by: Peter Cattaneo

Starring: Rainn Wilson, Christina Applegate, Teddy Geiger

This movie flew so low under the radar, the only reason I even knew it existed is because they released a song from it for free for Rock Band. But hey, what the heck, I said, I like Rainn Wilson, I’ll give it a chance.

Rainn Wilson used to be the drummer for the world’s biggest hair metal band before they got famous, and now he’s unemployed and filled with regret. When he gets the chance to play in his nephew’s band at the prom, he takes it, then takes the band on the road to get famous! Eventually, they open for his previous band and they’re great and everybody loves them but the OTHER band was lip-synching and they SUCK! BOO! Ugh.

This is a sickly-sweet family-coated version of School of Rock, basically, which is kinda sad. I mean, yeah, Rainn Wilson is pretty funny on The Office, but I don’t think a movie career of “Jack Black light” is really the best way to capitalize on that fame. Also, this movie just isn’t really all that funny in the first place, and they spend way too much time on the really awful music. Also, it’s fucking bizarre to see Christina Applegate playing the ‘hot mom’ stereotype. What the hell? I guess I’m older than I thought…

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment