History of the World: Part I (1981)

History of the World: Part I (1981)

Directed by: Mel Brooks

Starring: Mel Brooks, Dom DeLuise, Madeline Kahn

So this makes my sixth Mel Brooks movie I’ve reviewed on this site, leaving pretty much only one good one left I haven’t done (The Producers) and one more mediocre one (Dracula: Dead and Loving It), and three I haven’t even heard of before, apparently. So two. I guess the moral of the story is that I like Mel Brooks movies. And so should you.

History of the World: Part I is split up into basically three main stories that take place in three different times in history; cavemen times, Roman times (not to be confused with the later historic period, the times new roman (WAKKA WAKKA)), and the French Revolution. There’s also a song and dance number about the Spanish Inquisition. If you haven’t figured it out by now, wackiness ensues.

History of the World‘s a pretty good, standard Mel Brooks type of movie. It’s no Young Frankenstein or Spaceballs or anything, but it’s still pretty good. Worth seeing if you’ve seen the rest of his A-grade stuff, I’d say.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment