Scary Movie (2000)

Scary Movie (2000)

Directed by: Keenen Ivory Wayans

Starring: Anna Faris, Jon Abrahams, Dave Sheridan

Ah, Scary Movie. The film that reinvigorated the spoof movie genre, and did it so badly that I’m pretty sure nobody even connects things like this to actually being funny anymore. Thanks a lot, The Wayans Brothers. Also, I just love the tagline on that poster: “No mercy. No shame. No sequel.” Heh. It’s funny because they made three sequels.

Scary Movie is basically a parody of Scream and I Know What You Did Last Summer, with an ample helping of dick and pot jokes. Yep. That’s pretty much it.

I’ll be honest, I did laugh a few times at this movie. But overall, it’s just a dumb movie that doesn’t even come close to measuring up to the classic spoof films like Airplane! and The Naked Gun. Of course, neither did those movies’ sequels, so I guess it could just be a fluke whenever one of these types of films even works at all. Or maybe the moral here is that sequels suck. Yeah, that’s probably it.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment