Son of Godzilla (1967)

Son of Godzilla (1967)

Directed by: Jun Fukuda

Starring: Tadao Takashima, Akira Kubo, Bibari Maeda

Wow, I’m watching a lot of Godzilla movies, aren’t I? What can I say, I’m watching tapes I made back in high school, and I REALLY liked Godzilla back in high school. Actually, I STILL really like Godzilla, so I guess I can’t use that as an excuse.

Son of Godzilla doesn’t really have a story to it. It’s just a bunch of guys who find Monster Island (I don’t know if this is the first appearance of Monster Island or not, but frankly, I don’t care), which is a place where most of the Godzilla monsters live. On the giant monster side of the story, Godzilla is teaching his son how to breathe fire (well, smoke rings, but they’re ELECTRIC smoke rings) and terrorize Japan and all that good stuff. Then, they’re attacked by a giant tarantula! Oh no! Can Godzilla (and technically his son, I guess) win? Obviously, yes.

Son of Godzilla is maybe the worst of all the Godzilla movies (no, the American one doesn’t count). It tries to be a sort of weird paternal comedy, but with no talking and nothing really makes any sense, and you just really hate the pudgy little Godzilla Jr. Speaking of which, where the hell did he come from? He hatches out of an egg at the beginning of this movie, but… did Godzilla lay the egg? Is there a lady Godzilla on Monster Island somewhere? I… suddenly realized that there’s probably a wealth of disturbing fan fiction based on just this idea, and am no longer interested.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment