Jesse James (1939)

Jesse James (1939)

Directed by: Henry King

Starring: Tyrone Power, Henry Fonda, Nancy Kelly

I have to say, this wasn’t a movie I was expecting to watch. Most of the stuff I have on tape (which is what I’m watching through now) are 80’s and 90’s sci-fi and horror films, not late 30’s cowboy movies. I think the only reason I recorded this movie in the first place was because it was between Dr. Terror’s House of Horrors and Highlander on AMC that night. Weird lineup, AMC.

The story of Jesse James is pretty well-known (at least… I think it is). He was a farmhand who didn’t want to sell his mom’s land to the railroad, and started robbing trains as revenge. Over time, he because more unbalanced and starts doing more daring (and less heroic) heists, until he’s finally gunned down. This movie is basically that story, but it also focuses on his romance quite a bit.

This movie’s okay. Not bad, not especially good… pretty mediocre. I don’t like westerns in the first place, so that probably doesn’t help, but maybe it’s also because it’s just a generic sort of story, I dunno. Anyway, nothing really special about this movie.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment