Make Mine Music (1946)

Make Mine Music (1946)

Directed by: Bob Cormack, Clyde Geronimi, Jack Kinney

Starring: Nelson Eddy, Dinah Shore, Benny Goodman

Here’s another package film from Disney, and like Melody Time, it really wants to be another Fantasia, only without putting any of the effort into it. Guess what? People know about Fantasia, nobody’s ever heard of this unmanageable pile.

Make Mine Music has a retarded number of shorts packed into it. Most of them are tremendously forgettable, but there a couple slightly better ones. There’s a version of Peter and the Wolf narrated by Sterling Holloway (Winnie the Pooh) which isn’t all that bad, and a weird opera about a whale who sang opera. Oh, and a really lackluster telling of Casey at the Bat.

Really, I don’t remember any more specifics about the rest of the segments, because they weren’t memorable. At all. I can read on Wikipedia about the segments and I can recognize that, yes, I saw that… but if I was just going to repeat what Wikipedia says about the movie, that’d be a pretty huge waste of space, wouldn’t it? Nevertheless, I have to spend some more words padding this thing out a little more.

I know, I’ll complain about Casey at the Bat. Why is this damn poem such a national treasure? It’s about a guy who strikes out. Yeah, everyone thinks he can and he doesn’t and there’s a vague moral about overconfidence, but… why is it always everywhere? Whatever, I don’t really care. Yeah, I think this is enough words for this review.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment