Robin Hood (1973)

Robin Hood (1973)

Directed by: Wolfgang Reitherman

Starring: Brian Bedford, Phil Harris, Andy Devine

Aww yeah, Disney’s Robin Hood. I must’ve watched this movie hundreds of times as a kid. And you know what? I NEVER TURNED OUT TO BE A FURRY! You bunch of sick bastards…

You all know about Robin Hood, who stole from the rich to give to the poor, I’m sure. In this version everybody’s animals, but it’s still the same basic thing. Prince John has taken over the kingdom while his brother, King Richard is away on the Crusades. To counter the massive taxation, Robin Hood steals from the Prince and his men and gives the money back to the poor folk so they can survive. I really don’t think I have to spell out the rest of the plot, it’s the exact same thing they do in every single Robin Hood movie.

This is a great film. I especially love the voice acting; Peter Ustinov as Prince John is perfect, and you can’t go wrong with Pat Buttram in a Disney cartoon. Robin Hood was apparently made on the cheap, so there’s a lot of recycled animation in here. They tended to do that a lot back in the day, because animation was expensive and hard and they didn’t have any fancy shmancy computers to help them out. They did have xerography, which allowed them to do something like this for only a couple million bucks, but that’s it! I’m… not really sure where I was going with that.

So… yep. Robin Hood. I’ve got nothing else to say. The end.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment