Dante’s Peak (1997)

Dante’s Peak (1997)

Directed by: Roger Donaldson

Starring: Pierce Brosnan, Linda Hamilton, Charles Hallahan

It’s been a hard weekend of watching movies, but now I guess it’s time to get back to work. Back to the work of reviewing movies for my own entertainment, that is. Not REAL work, that would be ridiculous.

Dante’s Peak is about the adolescent adventures of a young volcano and how it interacts with the other volcanoes at school and it’s volcano parents. Either that or it’s about how Pierce Brosnan keeps saying that a volcano is going to erupt and nobody believes him and then it erupts and an old lady gets her legs melted off.

This movie is well-made, at least. I mean, there are some sub-par effects, but it’s mostly due to being made in the 90’s. They do a volcano destroying Sarah Connor’s town pretty well… It’s just that the rest of the movie is so goddamn cookie-cutter predictable. Personally, I think all disaster movies are basically the same story, and the only difference between them are the effects. Seriously, compare Dante’s Peak with Volcano and come up with even ONE major plot difference.

This is completely off-topic, but while I was doing my alphabetical list of movies that I have now, I read some of my older reviews, and they’re really long and comprehensive. I don’t really know what happened, but I sure as fuck don’t do that anymore. OH WELL!

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment