My Dear Secretary (1949)

My Dear Secretary (1949)

Directed by: Charles Martin

Starring: Laraine Day, Kirk Douglas, Keenan Wynn

For Christmas this year, my mom got me a bunch of one dollar DVDs. I’m the easiest person to shop for. Anyway, I got this and another Kirk Douglas movie on the same disc, and let me tell you, it was the absolute worst copy of a movie I have ever seen. It was like someone had projected the movie on a wall, and then only filmed the top half of it. It was all weird and stretched out and just awful. So here’s a tip for you: Never buy DVDs from “Digiview” if they’ve got more than one movie on them. You’re welcome.

Anyway, on to the movie. Kirk Douglas is a novelist who falls in love with his secretary, and they get married basically instantly for some reason. Then they grow apart and divorce (I think?) and at the end they make up and Douglas becomes her secretary.

This is a romantic comedy that’s mostly just the principal characters sitting around in living rooms talking all the time. Then again, Keenan Wynn was one of the main characters, and he was pretty funny, so the movie wasn’t a total loss.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment