Idaho Transfer (1973)

idaho transferIdaho Transfer (1973)

Directed by: Peter Fonda

Starring: Kelly Bohanon, Kevin Hearst, Caroline Hildebrand

one-star

This is actually the second time I’ve tried watching this movie. The first time, the cheap DVD made the last half of the movie unwatchable and skippy, so I decided not to write about it. I hadn’t seen the whole thing, after all, right? Well, this time (on a DIFFERENT cheap, crappy DVD), the exact same thing happened, so I figure I should write something about it so I don’t feel compelled to try to watch it again. It’s a bad movie.

A group of research students or something in Idaho have created a time machine which allows them to go a few years in the future. It turns out, that some time between the present and the future, a nuclear holocaust happens, and these kids at first try to learn about the future world to see what’s up, and later decide to all move there so they can rebuild humanity. It’s about this point where my copies died, so that’s all I know. Sorry.

Through the magic of fast-forwarding, however, I can glean that the last half of the movie is just these whiny kids walking around a desert and talking (probably whining). Boy, sure is a sad thing I couldn’t watch the rest of that.

Idaho Transfer is known for one thing, however (“known” being an incredibly subjective term, here): The time machine doesn’t work if you have anything metal with you, so you have to stuff the metal stuff in a box as you sit on this bench which takes you to the future. Of course, pants have metal in them, so basically you just have to take off your pants to use the time machine. This is a rule that I think ALL time machines should enact. At least so long as the people using the time machine are pretty young college girls. …Wow, that sounds kinda skeezy, doesn’t it? Sorry.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment