Jekyll & Hyde Together Again (1982)

jekyll and hyde together againJekyll & Hyde Together Again (1982)

Directed by: Jerry Belson

Starring: Mark Blankfield, Bess Armstrong, Krista Errickson

one-star

Oh boy, a “comedic” version of Jekyll and Hyde that’s all about cocaine and sex jokes. Sounds pretty great to me. Also, apparently the star in this went on to play the blind guy in Robin Hood: Men in Tights, so I guess he eventually learned how to be funny. Or maybe it was just the difference between Mel Brooks and the guy who wrote Smokey and the Bandit II.

Dr. Jekyll, a brilliant surgeon, has decided to stop doing surgery in favor of experimenting with a drug he thinks will bring man back to his primitive roots. He discovers this drug, which is cocaine, and turns into a… well, I have no idea what you’d call it, a junkie, I guess? He struts around everywhere, shaking, having sex with prostitutes and doing drugs. The rest of the movie is spent doing this same thing over and over again with slight variations on the same unfunny jokes until the end where there’s a musical number.

I’ve never done drugs. I’m perfectly fine with my alcoholism, thank you very much. No, I’ve never done coke nor have I hung out around people who did so, especially not back in the 80’s, so maybe I’m just plain not the target audience for this movie. I’m sure if I was into that particular “scene” back then, I’d laugh my ass off at this movie, what with my brain being shriveled and bubbly from years of doing hard drugs. Or I guess I could be dead. Either of those options seems about as viable.

In any case, I wouldn’t recommend this movie to anyone. Jekyll & Hyde Together Again is in a close running with Frankenhooker for stupid 80’s versions of classic horror stories. You know what’s a better movie than this? Dr. Jekyll and Ms. Hyde. It’s THAT bad.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment