Animal Crackers (1930)

animal crackersAnimal Crackers (1930)

Directed by: Victor Heerman

Starring:  Groucho Marx, Harpo Marx, Chico Marx

four-stars

I’ve got a friend who always manages to not have seen all the… Okay, that wording is retarded, let me try again: I have a friend who hasn’t seen a bunch of great movies. Much better. Anyway, we’ve built up a LIST for him, and when he comes over, we watch one or two movies off the list. It’s great because he gets to see awesome movies he hasn’t before, and I get to see awesome movies I haven’t seen in a long time. Animal Crackers is one of those awesome movies.

As with all Marx Brothers movies, the plot is threadbare, at best. It’s basically about Captain Spaulding (Groucho), an African explorer, who’s attending a party. During the party, a priceless painting is stolen, and eventually recovered. Really, the movie’s mostly about Groucho being Groucho and insulting everyone. Which is hilarious.

If you’ve never seen a Marx Brothers movie, then you’re dead to me. Seriously, these guys are hilarious. If you find any comedy value in wordplay, puns, physical humor, slapstick, or anything funny in the entire world, then you will love the Marx Brothers. If you don’t find them funny, you’re probably not even actually a human being. And no, I don’t think I’m exaggerating at all there.

Now if you’ll excuse, I’m about to have a strange interlude.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment