The Muppet Movie (1979)

muppet movieThe Muppet Movie (1979)

Directed by: James Frawley

Starring: Jim Henson, Frank Oz, Dave Goelz

four-stars

Oh man, I love this movie and it’s been ages since I’ve seen it last. Strangely enough, I actually recognize most of the cameos now that I actually know about 70’s entertainment. No longer is he ‘that black guy who gives Gonzo balloons,’ now he’s Richard Pryor. I’m sure that makes him feel better. I’m sure.

The Muppet Movie tells the fictional story of how the muppets (from The Muppet Show, even though there is a cameo by Big Bird in there) originally got together, which takes the form of a road movie. There are songs and jokes and skits, all in the same style of comedy that ruled The Muppet Show and made it such a great show. Also, there are tons and tons of cameos of famous comedians at the time, including (but not limited to) Steve Martin, Mel Brooks, Dom DeLuise, Bob Hope, Orson Welles, and so on.

This is just a damn funny movie. I’m still not entirely sure whether it (and The Muppet Show, for that matter) was made for kids or if it was just a universal comedy that appeals to everybody, because it certainly works on both of those levels. I used to watch this all the time as a kid, I’ll tell you that much. The rest of the sequels to this movie, however, well… Let’s just not talk about them. Quiet time now.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment