Inspector Gadget (1999)

inspector-gadgetInspector Gadget (1999)

Directed by: David Kellogg

Starring: Matthew Broderick, Rupert Everett, Joely Fisher

one-star

Ugh, why did I watch this? Do you ever get to that point where you just want someone else out of the room so much that you’ll put on something just plain godawful in hopes that they’ll leave? Yeah, I think that was the case here. As a side note, I’d like to say that this is the only movie I’ve ever walked out on in theaters, and that was because I was with my mom at the time and she refused to watch any further after the car started talking. A much better decision than watching the whole thing, definitely.

Based on the 80’s Saturday cartoon show, Inspector Gadget follows a bumbling detective (Broderick) who was almost killed, but was saved by an operation that left most of his body mechanical. He has to stop the evil Dr. Claw (Everett) from doing the evil that he do so well. He also has a talking car, voiced by D.L. Hughley and Andy Dick is one of Dr. Claw’s henchmen. Isn’t that enough to not want to see this movie?

I loved the old Inspector Gadget cartoon, and I think the day I saw this movie for the first time, all illusions that a TV show could translate to the big screen with any resemblence to the source material vanished in a huge, soul-shattering explosion. Okay, I wasn’t devastated by this shitty movie, but it was really terrible, and had little to nothing to do with the cartoon. It was significantly more Six Million Dollar Man than Inspector Gadget, which is difficult, since that’s basically all it was to begin with.

I guess if I have to get any more specific as to why this movie was awful, you deserve to watch it and suffer yourself.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment