On Her Majesty’s Secret Service (1969)

On Her Majesty’s Secret Service (1969)

Directed by: Peter R. Hunt

Starring: George Lazenby, Diana Rigg, Telly Savalas

All right, time for some James Bond lovin’. No, not like that, you’re gross. Comcast’s OnDemand service had a half dozen low-grade Bond movies on, so I couldn’t really pass those up, now could I? Also, Telly Savalas is my hero.

George Lazenby takes his only shot as Bond in this movie about an evil villain with a master plan to rule the world! I suppose that needs a little more detail, doesn’t it? Blofeld (Savalas) is running an institute in the Alps to cure people of their allergies which is really a front for brainwashing women so they can go out and kill at his whim. Of course, James Bond moseys on into the compound, sleeps with a couple women, and defeats Blofeld’s plan. Oh, and there’s a subplot about him getting married and then his wife dies or something.

I think most people consider George Lazenby to be the worst Bond, which I can understand. The producers really didn’t want anybody to notice that Connery wasn’t Bond anymore, so Lazenby basically does his Sean Connery impression while playing Bond (which isn’t all THAT bad), as opposed to every other actor to take up the role who puts their own personal touch to the character. All that being said, I still like him better than Daniel Craig.

This is probably the last Bond movie I’d pick to watch from a lineup of every Bond movie, but what the hell, it was there and it was free. I guess that’s a good enough reason to watch it.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment