Creator (1985)

creatorCreator (1985)

Directed by: Ivan Passer

Starring: Peter O’Toole, Mariel Hemingway, Vincent Spano

one-star

So… what the hell is this movie about? I mean, sure, I watched the whole thing, but every half hour or so I found myself asking what it was about, and then it just kinda ended. I really wanted to give this movie at least two stars just for having Peter O’Toole in it, but between how nothing made since and the really awful performance by Vincent Spano, I couldn’t bring myself to do it. So what was this about, anyway?

Well, as far as I can figure, O’Toole is a biology professor at a school where Spano is his protege, Mariel Hemingway is his 19 year old girlfriend/egg donor for his cloning experiments, and oh yeah, he’s trying to clone his dead wife. And while all these things may seem to add up to a plot, they really don’t. At best, this movie is just a bunch of subplots hanging out together trying to make you forget that there really isn’t anything major going on here. I… really don’t know what else to tell you. What WAS this about?

There was a lot of talk about love and ‘the big picture’ in Creator, but there really wasn’t any talk about… well, anything meaningful. I can’t really recommend this movie because, despite Peter O’Toole being a captivating crazy old guy, NOTHING FUCKING HAPPENS. I can’t stress that enough. I had no expectations going into this movie, and no expectations coming out of it, because it was almost like not watching a movie at all, just seeing a bunch of pictures with words on them over the course of an hour and a half. What the hell was this movie about?

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a comment