Zombie and the Ghost Train (1991)

zombie and the ghost trainZombie and the Ghost Train (1991)

Directed by: Mika Kaurismäki

Starring: Silu Seppälä, Marjo Leinonen, Matti Pellonpää

three-stars

Before I start, I need to confess something: I saw this movie late at night while my fiancée was sleeping on me and I didn’t want to get up to turn on the subtitles… So I saw this movie in the original Finnish, and I do not speak Finnish. It was still pretty good, though. C’mon, I can’t let things get stale by always understanding a movie before reviewing it, those are YOUR rules.

Zombie is the name of an alcoholic bass player who struggles from town to town, trying to survive. He gets in a band, he gets a girlfriend, he gets way too drunk and hurts himself and misses gigs all the time, they kick him out of the band, his girlfriend leaves him, and he goes somewhere else to start all over again.

I actually liked the atmosphere of this movie a lot. It’s really slow-paced, but there’s never a moment where nothing is going on, if that makes any sense. I feel like not knowing the language actually wasn’t much of a barrier to understanding this film because so much of it takes place in the small actions and facial expressions of the characters. Everyone is basically slowly struggling through life, and it’s something very easy to associate with. I thought it was a pretty heartfelt story about a guy who’s down on his luck, but really he’s only got himself to blame. I might even watch it again with subtitles some day.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

