Switching Goals (1999)

switching goalsSwitching Goals (1999)

Directed by: David Steinberg

Starring: Mary-Kate Olsen, Ashley Olsen, Eric Lutes

one-star

This is the first Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen movie I’ve seen, and I gotta say, I have no idea what the fuck is wrong with me that compels me to watch things like Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen movies. What could I possibly hope to gain from this? I need help.

As in most Olsen twins movies, this film features a pair of twin girls, each of which has exactly one character trait which is the opposite of the other’s. In Switching Goals, one girl is smart, and the other is into sports! To make a long story short, the dad is coaching a good team with the brainy (not good at sports) sister and the mom starts coaching the other sports team with the sporty sister on it, and they clash. For some reason or other (I think it’s to impress some nerd boy) the sister switch spots and they both learn a thing or two about life. Like how they can only do The Parent Trap in so many different ways before everybody stops watching.

What do you want me to say about this movie? It’s bad. You knew that, that’s why you’re here. There is literally nobody in the world who fondly remembers the acting career of the Olsen twins, and even if they somehow did I’m pretty sure that nostalgia-tainted terrible opinion would start and stop with Full House. A really young Michael Cera is in this movie. There, now you know some cute little trivia tidbit. I’m going to get drunk.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

