A Town Called Panic (2009)

town called panicA Town Called Panic (2009)

Directed by: Stéphane Aubier, Vincent Patar

Starring: Stéphane Aubier, Jeanne Balibar, Nicolas Buysse

two-stars

This is a little bit of a weird movie. I mean, it’s a French stop-motion surreal family comedy about a cowboy, indian, and horse. It’s… hard to describe, which I’m pretty sure was what they were going for. I liked it, for what that’s worth. I don’t even know what to write here, man.

So a cowboy, an indian, and a horse all live together in a little house. It’s Horse’s birthday, and Cowboy and Indian decide to build a new house for him as a present. Being bumblers, they accidentally order 10 million bricks or something, and soon they’re just drowning in bricks. Which is all well and good until some fish people jump out of their well and start stealing the houses that they build so they can live in them underwater. They have to chase down the fish people, and also Horse is trying to date a music teacher, and get back their bricks because they don’t want to keep building houses. I think that’s how the movie goes.

Like I said, I liked it. It’s surreal, it’s bizarre, it very easily sucks you in to the strange little stop-motion world it portrays (and I am a sucker for stop-motion, don’t even get me started). I guess the problem is that I only watched this a week ago, and I already remember almost nothing about it. Normally for me, that takes TWO weeks, so I have to conclude that there just wasn’t a lot of memorable stuff in it. You’re just barraged by insane thing after insane thing and pretty soon you just give up trying to understand and let it wash over you. Which makes for an entertaining hour and a half, but it’s pretty much all gone by the time you start trying to think back to it. At least, that’s the way it is for ME, with my BRAIN PROBLEMS. Definitely worth watching if you’re in the mood to see some starkly chaotic stuff, though.

Leave a Reply

