Secretary (2002)

secretarySecretary (2002)

Directed by: Steven Shainberg

Starring: James Spader, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Jeremy Davies

two-stars

This was a… really weird movie. I wish I had written my review sooner after watching it so I’d have a better grasp on what exactly it was I couldn’t figure out about it, but since I didn’t, this is what I get. It was weird. Really quite dang weird.

Maggie Gyllenhaal plays a woman recently released from a mental institution because she used to cut herself. To incorporate herself into normal society, she gets a job as a secretary for an OCD dick of a lawyer and finds that his level of micromanagement happens to be exactly what she needs. They develop a weird sort of relationship where she falls in love with him and he spanks her so she mails him worms and then he jacks off on her back.

My biggest problem with this movie was that the two main characters just have a really terrible chemistry. Also, I couldn’t really tell if the acting was just bad or if the characters themselves were so weirdly detached from humanity that neither of them ever seemed to respond in a realistic fashion to any circumstance. So yeah, basically it was weird.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

