Saw V (2008)

Saw V (2008)

Directed by: David Hackl

Starring: Scott Patterson, Costas Mandylor, Tobin Bell

You know, I’m pretty glad that I decided to watch all seven of these things in a row like I did. If I had waited a year between each installment like a CHUMP, I would probably not have remembered all the minutia involved in these things.

The big reveal at the end of the last movie was that Jigsaw had died and a detective that he had previously tested was now taking over for him. As he’s being hunted down by another detective, he puts five people through a gauntlet of challenges designed to make them all work together and save them from death, which they of course don’t do because they’re all self-possessed and that’s the whole point of the thing in the first place.

It’s pretty amazing how much worse this Jigsaw copycat guy is than the original, both in the framework of the films and just in general screen presence. My biggest problem with this movie was that the good and bad detectives both looked so similar that I had trouble telling them apart at points. I guess all white people look the same to me or something.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

