Leaving Las Vegas (1995)

Leaving Las Vegas (1995)

Directed by: Mike Figgis

Starring: Nicolas Cage, Elisabeth Shue, Julian Sands

All right, fine. I’ll admit that there are now TWO not completely worthless Nic Cage movies out there; this one and Adaptation. I know, I’m as surprised as you are. It’s not even that it’s a good movie that he happens to be in, he can just be really good in the right role, apparently. Damn, I hate admitting that.

An alcoholic screenwriter is fired from his job and decides to go to Las Vegas and drink himself to death. There he meets a prostitute and they start a rocky relationship which quickly self-destructs.

I have a soft spot for stories about alcoholics destroying themselves, and I gotta say that this is… one of those. It gets uncomfortably “real” at points, which I love but also I understand that it is definitely not for everybody. Nic Cage, and again I hate to say this, is really good in this film as this insane drunk, and Elisabeth Shue plays really well off of him.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

One response to “Leaving Las Vegas (1995)

Leave a Reply

