Drive (2011)

Drive (2011)

Directed by: Nicolas Winding Refn

Starring: Ryan Gosling, Carey Mulligan, Bryan Cranston

I get a profound feeling like I just didn’t “get” this movie. I was just watching and waiting for it to really get going, and I eventually realized that no, this is just all there was to it and welp, guess the movie’s over now.

A Hollywood stunt driver who also acts as a getaway driver for crimes gets caught up with the wrong people and it’s kill or be killed.

It’s the most generic crime movie plot ever, but it’s presented in such a way where you’re thinking about pretty much everything except for the action. I don’t know if that’s a good or a bad thing, to be perfectly honest. My biggest complaints with this movie are how incredibly low-key the whole thing is, which just doesn’t work for me given the story, and also that I’m still not sure whether Ryan Gosling’s character was supposed to be weird and emotionally distant or if he’s just a terrible actor.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

