Ernest Goes to Camp (1987)

Ernest Goes to Camp (1987)

Directed by: John R. Cherry III

Starring: Jim Varney, Victoria Racimo, John Vernon

That’s right, I’m watching through all NINE Ernest P. Worrell movies. Why do I do things like this? Because I hate life and am constantly trying to convince myself to end it all, I guess. I’d never seen any of these movies before, and I gotta say that going through them may be my biggest regret in recent memory.

Ernest is a groundskeeper at a summer camp owned by Iron-Eyes Cody. He gets promoted to camp councilor so he can take care of some trouble kids from prison. Also, an evil corporate guy wants to buy the camp and turn it into… uh… I don’t think he has any plans for it, he just wants to tear down the camp because he’s evil. Ernest both loses and saves the day, thanks to a bunch of murderous inventions which he and the kids let loose on the innocent construction workers.

This movie is so unfunny, it actually takes laughter and happiness out of the world with every viewing. A supervillain could show Ernest Goes to Camp to captives and drain the happiness out of them to power some sort of ray gun and take over the world. Thanks to this film, I will never again feel joy. Every time someone watches this movie, every baby in the world cries simultaneously. I think you get what I’m trying to say here: I didn’t like this movie very much.

Leave a Reply

