Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1966)

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf (1966)

Directed by: Mike Nichols

Starring: Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton, George Segal

I don’t know how unique this really makes me, but I hate stage plays. Seeing shows in theaters include some of my worst memories ever, and one was just because it was so fucking boring that I fell  asleep. And I think I was bleeding or something and that was bad. Anyway, my point is that Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? is a play that they filmed, and it feels exactly like a play and that’s why I wasn’t a huge fan of it.

The entirety of the film is a party thrown by an aging academic couple for a younger couple that just moved into the town and field of expertise. Unfortunately for the guests, the hosts appear to completely hate each other, and make a night out of one-upping each other’s last horrible deed.

The dialogue in this film is really sharp and clever and witty… and everybody talks like that all the time exactly the same way for the entire movie. There is one “voice” to this film, and it’s goddamn torture to hear it being screeched back and forth for two hours. If I’m just fucking weird and that’s not a normal complaint, then you’ll probably love this movie. The cinematography is beautiful, every actor’s performance is brilliant, and the story is… uh… well, not great, but you’ll be too blinded by the bon mots to notice.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

