The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

Directed by: Andrew Adamson

Starring: Tilda Swinton, Georgie Henley, William Moseley

Every once in a while I remember that they’re trying to make a series of big Narnia films and I think to myself, “I guess I’ll see those. Eventually. Actually, fuck it, just tell me when they do The Silver Chair, that was the one I liked.”

Four siblings find their way to a magical land through a portal in the wardrobe in the house they’re staying in. They become embroiled in the political intrigues between an evil witch and a messianic lion, and end up fighting in this big war they really have no stake in whatsoever. I mean, they can just leave at any time. It’s really easy.

It’s kinda funny how stupid The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe becomes when you see it all out there on the screen. I mean, when you read the book, the battles are like “welp a bunch of guys fought, but the important thing is that this one kid shot a bad guy and he feels cool about it.” And here… you get these epic Lord of the Rings style battles, except there are little kids fighting big CGI ogres… no, it doesn’t really work for me. If you’re going to make Narnia movies, at least try to embrace the spirit of the stories as opposed to placing them in the context of a previous epic fantasy series. But, I’ll be honest, I don’t really care. I never liked Narnia all that much when I read them as an elementary schooler.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

