2001: A Space Odyssey (1968)

2001: A Space Odyssey (1968)

Directed by: Stanley Kubrick

Starring: Keir Dullea, Gary Lockwood, William Sylvester

Since I made such a big deal out of my 2,000th post the other day, it just makes sense that I’d watch Kubrick’s classic space epic 2001 for my 2,001st review, right? I swear, I’m not going to keep doing this. I ran out of movies that counted up like that.

After the government finds a strange black monolith on the moon, they decide to send a mission to Jupiter to investigate another one they believe is there. Unfortunately, the Jupiter mission goes awry when the HAL 9000 computer put in charge of all the automation starts malfunctioning. The two pilots of the spaceship try to deactivate HAL, but it fights back.

This movie is gorgeous. I’ve been saying it a lot recently, I realize, but it’s especially important to mention for this film since that’s mostly what it is. Very, VERY little actually happens in 2001, and instead the three hour film is mostly just experiencing the awesome effects. Of course, those effects are totally worth it and the story with HAL has produced some of the most memorable characters and moments in film history. I don’t generally recommend 2001 to people, even though I really like it, just because I realize that most people don’t want to be sitting around for three hours watching astronauts in neat spaceships where there’s almost no talking and not even a single explosion. If you’re the kind of person who enjoys hard sci-fi like this, you’ve probably already seen this. If you’re not one of those people, but you want to find a way to make this movie a little easier to take, might I suggest the miracle cure of marijuana?

Leave a Reply

