Barfly (1987)

Barfly (1987)

Directed by: Barbet Schroeder

Starring: Mickey Rourke, Faye Dunaway, Alice Krige

So, for St. Patrick’s Day my plan was to watch five movies that were predominately about drinking, then review them and come up with a cute little drinking game for each. I only got two in when I realized that that would’ve been a lot of work, and that I was waayyyy too damn drunk to be expending that kind of energy on things that didn’t involve yelling at neighbor kids or lifting a glass. So instead, here’s a more normaler review of this Charles Bukowski romantic comedy.

Mickey Rourke plays Chaurles Buchickenski, a homeless drunk who spends his days drinking and his nights fighting in back alleys for no reason. He meets a crazy woman who is also a raging alcoholic (Dunaway), and they move in together and have all sorts of bizarre interactions. One of Rourke’s short stories gets picked up by a magazine, and this new career… changes absolutely nothing about his life.

Barfly is a romanticized story about the noble American drunk writer, and honestly, I liked it even more than I expected to. Don’t get me wrong, if I thought I could get away with this kind of shit, I’d quit my job and just write and drink all day right– wait… I’m already unemployed and an alcoholic. And I technically write things sometimes… I’M LIVIN’ TH’ DREAM, MOM!!

Leave a Reply

