Reservoir Dogs (1992)

Reservoir Dogs (1992)

Directed by: Quentin Tarantino

Starring: Harvey Keitel, Tim Roth, Michael Madsen

I’ve actually never seen this movie, just because I’ve never really liked a Quentin Tarantino film. Figures that I’d skip out on the good one in favor for the more successful ones. I really should’ve known better, honestly.

Reservoir Dogs is about a jewelry store robbery that goes bad. Five guys who don’t know each other and hired by the mob steal some diamonds from a store, but alarms go off, people get shot, and tensions run high in the survivors. They’re all searching for the mole that tipped off the cops, and at the same time trying to deal with each other, some of whom are a little bit on the psychopathic side.

This movie does the same skipping-around-in-time thing that Tarantino loves to do, except it actually kinda works in this movie (as opposed to Pulp Fiction or Kill Bill) because it doesn’t happen all that often, and when it does change, it makes sense for the story. Before this, I just thought it was a lazy technique because the guy couldn’t properly pace a linear story, but now I see that he was just trying to mimic the gimmick that worked well in his first film. So I guess I underestimated Tarantino. I can admit when I’m wrong (which is never).

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

