I Spit on Your Grave (1978)

I Spit on Your Grave (1978)

Directed by: Meir Zarchi

Starring: Camille Keaton, Eron Tabor, Richard Pace

And here’s the last of my “uncomfortable” movie challenge. I’ll admit, it was kinda rough. I saw a lot of rape, murder, and mutilated genitals today. Well, yesterday. Doesn’t matter. The point is, I’m done! And I’m none the worse for wear, except that I now distrust all of humanity and their works.

A woman from NEW YORK CITY?! visits the south somewhere, and of course the first thing that happens is four yokels beat and rape her, then have their retarded friend stab her to death. Except he loses his nerve at the last minute, and the woman is able to recover. Her plan is revenge, which for some reason involves inviting those men to have sex with her again, except this time she kills them. It’s kinda weird.

This movie is pure grindhouse, and honestly, it wasn’t all that shocking. I mean, yeah, the first half of the movie is just a series of rape sequences one after another, and that was kinda fucked up, but it’s nothing you wouldn’t expect from a Quentin Tarantino movie. Hell, I wouldn’t be surprised if this was the film that got him interested in making movies in the first place.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

