The Adventures of Tintin (2011)

The Adventures of Tintin (2011)

Directed by: Steven Spielberg

Starring: Jamie Bell, Andy Serkis, Daniel Craig

When I was growing up, the only comic books I read were Star Trek: The Next Generation comics, except for one time when I checked out a big book of Tintin comics from the library. I bring this up because… uh… I… I don’t know. I just sometimes like saying things about myself. THAT IS NOT SO WRONG, YOU FASCISTS.

A boy detective and his dog find a model of a ship which leads them on a treasure hunt across deserts, oceans and opera concerts. Along the way they meet a wacky drunken sea captain, some bad guys, and some other shit that was neat. I don’t remember all the specifics, okay. You are very demanding tonight, invisible person I always seem to talk to.

I actually quite liked this movie. It’s tone reminded me a lot of Indiana Jones, and the animation was actually pretty good, none of those dead-eyed uncanny valley monsters like you get in those Zimeckis CGI films like Polar Express. Wow, that was a long sentence. But no, pretty good movie. I’d watch it again, even. Also, I liked Andy Serkis as the drunk Captain Haddock, who is maybe the first normal human I’ve seen him play. Whouda thunk it.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

