The Help (2011)

The Help (2011)

Directed by: Tate Taylor

Starring: Emma Stone, Viola Davis, Octavia Spencer

Maybe I’m just a racist old white man (it’s true, I once got called out on this very site for making fun of Keanu Reeves’ name), but this movie has absolutely no conflict. It’s just a bunch of women who hate each other (which, in my experience, is just all women), and some of them are different colors than each other. GIVE THEM A THOUSAND AWARDS!!

It’s the 60’s and a white lady writes a book about the injustices suffered by black women while serving white households as maids. And… uh… some people don’t like it. But others do! That’s the thrilling conflict of this Oscar-nominated film! I don’t understand the academy’s criteria at all.

This is nominated for best picture, as well as two supporting actresses in the upcoming academy awards, and… well, shit, I guess I’m just not qualified to talk about this movie at all. I’m pretty much only qualified to talk about 70’s sci-fi, movies with rubber monster costumes, and Italian horror movies. And you know what? I’m okay with that. I know I’m not some fancy-pants dramatic critic or anything like that. I just like what I like, and what I like is FUCKING THINGS HAPPENING IN A MOVIE.

Leave a Reply

