Total Recall (1990)

Total Recall (1990)

Directed by: Paul Verhoeven

Starring: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sharon Stone, Michael Ironside

I gotta admit, Total Recall is one of my “guilty pleasures” movies (and not because of the three-boobed chick, and I KNOW that’s what you were thinking). It’s just so goddamn stupid, but it’s stupid in this really upfront, “yeah, we know” sorta way that makes it enjoyable. Mostly I like it for the effects, though. I’m not sure how anybody could NOT like this movie for it’s effects.

A construction worker decides to take a fake vacation by having some memories implanted in him that he’s a secret agent on Mars, but it turns out that it’s true and his whole life is a lie created to keep him from realizing… OR IS IT?! Schwarzenegger has to go to Mars and save the planet from the evil mega-corporation for the sake of all the horrible mutants that live there.

So before I said the best part of this movie was the special effects, and I was 100% correct when I did that (as I always am about everything). If you haven’t heard, they’re making a remake of Total Recall slated to come out next year, and it will undoubtedly be all CGI effects. Maybe I’m just an old fart, but that kinda seems to defeat the point. Eh, whatever, you can’t fight the inexorable march of progress. I’m sure ONE day we’ll get CGI good enough that it’ll look like the practical effects from the 90’s…

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

