Big Fish (2003)

Big Fish (2003)

Directed by: Tim Burton

Starring: Ewan McGregor, Albert Finney, Billy Crudup

What a good movie. This is only the second time I’ve seen it, but yeah, what a good movie Big Fish is. It’s charming and just fun and kinda weird, but in a cool way… It’s good.

A man who often tells tall stories of his own life is very close to death, and his estranged son realizes this is his last chance to actually try and get to know his father for real. All he gets, however, are these tall stories about adventures with witches and bank robbers and Siamese twins. They make up in the end, though, of course. It’s a movie.

I hate “feelgood” movies. They’re one of my greatest nemeses. However, Big Fish is totally a feelgood movie, and it actually does make me feel good, and I don’t hate it at all. I don’t know why. I just know that I’m ashamed of betraying my principles. It doesn’t really matter, though, because I can just watch this movie and feel good again. Wait… then that’d be followed by shame again! This is like Catholicism…

 

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

