Xtro II: The Second Encounter (1991)

Xtro II: The Second Encounter (1991)

Directed by: Harry Bromley Davenport

Starring: Jan-Michael Vincent, Paul Koslo, Tara Buckman

Technically, this is the sequel to the low-budget sci-fi/horro movie Xtro, but in reality, they have NOTHING TO DO WITH EACH OTHER. I mean, they both have aliens as bad guys, but the aliens aren’t even anything close to the same. I understand that they’re obviously making a knock off Aliens, but at least that movie kept the same damn aliens from the first.

A group of scientists find a portal thing to another world or some stupid shit and a bad alien comes through and eats people and blah blah fucking blah. You couldn’t make a more obvious story if you had actually made it out of some sort of Play-Doh factory for making dumb action movies.

I actually saw the third Xtro before either of the preceding films, and once I learned that it was the third, I wondered if I had missed anything relevant to it by not seeing these first two. Turns out, none of them have anything to do with each other, except that they all have aliens in them. So it’s an anthology series, I guess. I feel like I’m being really kind to the series by saying that.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

