WarGames (1983)

WarGames (1983)

Directed by: John Badham

Starring: Matthew Broderick, Ally Sheedy, John Wood

This is one of those movies that nerds just love because, in the 80’s, there weren’t that many films that made “hackers” and nerds into heroes. Now, I’m not one of those self-hating nerds or anything, but one of my things is that I hate how computers are portrayed in films, and WarGames is a major offender in this court. Sure, if I was a normal person I wouldn’t care about that, but like I said, I’m a nerd. I care about stupid shit, it’s part of The Code. The… nerd code, I guess. That I totally didn’t just make up.

Matthew Broderick is an|_|83r 31337 |-|4xx0r (oh god, I can’t believe I remember that shit) who, while searching for unreleased games, accidentally comes across the computer which is in charge of the government’s nuclear missiles. He starts playing the “game” of “global thermonuclear war”, and realizes that he’s accidentally set in motion the most frightening scenario of the Cold War. Since everything’s controlled by the computer, there’s no real way to know whether the nukes being launched by Russia are real or only a simulation… until it’s too late.

I’ve never been a fan of Matthew Broderick, but he’s actually not that bad in this film. Also, god damn was Ally Sheedy hot in the 80’s. I don’t know if she’s even done anything since Short Circuit, but she was definitely one of those girls in movies I grew up with. You know… “those girls”. Her and Jennifer Connelly.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

