Hansel & Gretel (2007)

Hansel & Gretel (2007)

Directed by: Pil-Sung Yim

Starring: Jeong-myeong Cheon, Young-nam Jang, Ji-hee Jin

Ah, the ancient and venerated tradition of spooky evil children in horror movies. Thanks to having seen so many of these types of films (not to mention a few choice Twilight Zone episodes) during my formative years, I am now completely freaked out by six-year-old girls. Thanks a lot, spooky children movies.

After a man gets in a car accident while driving to see his bed-ridden mother, he gets lost in a nearby forest and stumbles upon a surprisingly perfect-seeming house. Inside are three kids and their parents, who leave in the night. When the guy tries to leave, he always ends up back at the house (yes, even when he tries leaving a breadcrumb trail). Soon a preacher and his wife show up as well, and things get… really weird.

I actually really enjoyed this movie. It’s a great psychological thriller (though it’s not much of a surprise that the kids turn out to be evil. Well, for me. Like I said before, I expect all children to be able to set me on fire with their minds), and it has a surprisingly sad and touching ending. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen a sad ending like that in a horror film before, actually. The child actors also do a pretty good job, though it is always harder to judge acting when the film’s in a language you don’t understand. I’d recommend it. I’d even say that this would be a pretty good horror film for the womenfolk who aren’t usually into these types of things. It’s not gory, it’s got a compelling story and characters, and it’s… good? I don’t even know what I’m talking about anymore. Must be that little kid next door, finally wishing me into the cornfield.

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

