The Real Howard Spitz (1998)

The Real Howard Spitz (1998)

Directed by: Vadim Jean

Starring: Kelsey Grammer, Genevieve Tessier, Joseph Rutten

I actually enjoyed this movie quite a bit. I know! That never happens! I’m just as surprised as you are! I can’t stop exclaiming, I’m so confused! AAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!

Kelsey Grammer is a failing writer of detective novels and complete bastard. One day he decides to cash in and write a children’s book, the only problem being that he’s never read one, and also he hates children. He meets a little girl and bounces ideas off of her, eventually creating Detective Cow, which sells like gangbusters. He hires an actor (Patrick McKenna, Harold from The Red Green Show) to play him in public appearances so he doesn’t have to deal with kids, but he eventually softens up (and more importantly, wants the credit and awards to himself).

Maybe it’s just that I really connected with the main character, but I thought this was a really funny movie. McKenna is great doing basically the exact same role from Red Green (which is also hilarious), and Grammer plays an unrepentant asshole very well. He just has this natural timing that makes him being a jerk really believable. And I should know, I’m not just a reviewer of jerks, I’m the president!

About Reid

Born in a dumpster, died in a fire. View all posts by Reid

Leave a Reply

